136 Buitengracht, P.O. Box 1058, Cape Town, 8000, South Africa
Tel: +27 (0) 21 422 1840    Fax: +27 (0) 21 422 1842    Email: info@noerowolff.com


Noero Wolff Architects was established in 1985 as Jo Noero Architects - It was changed to Noero Wolff Architects in 1998 when Heinrich Wolff became a partner in the practice. Noero Wolff have designed buildings throughout Southern Africa as well as the United States.

The work has been extensively published both nationally and internationally and has won many awards. In addition, the practice has won a number of architectural competitions including the competition for the design of the Museum of struggle in Red Location, New Brighton, South Africa. The work of the practice is varied both in scale and type and ranges from individual houses to large scale cultural and educational complexes.

Jo noero is the Professor of Architecture in the University of Cape Town and Heinrich Wolff is a part-time teacher at the same institution. Both partners teach design and architectural theory at this institution.





National Awards of Merit and Awards of Commendation

Regional Award of Merit
Inkwenkwezi Secondary School (2007)

Regional Award of Merit
24 Alfred Street (2007)

National Award of Merit
Red Location Museum of Struggle (2007)

House Nkwe 1983

Florida Offices 1993

Duduza Resource Centre 1993

Soweto Careers Centre 1993

Funda Community College 1995

Walberton Psychiatric House 1995

Guguletu Sports Centre 1995

Velocity Films 1997

Daycare Centres 2005
Delft South

Usasazo Secondary School 2005

Project Awards

House Freedberg
Cape Town (2007)

Philippi Business Place
Cape Town (2007)

House Nkwe 1981

Lebaleng Church 1998

Atteridgeville Magistrates Court 1998

House Sapieka 2002
Hout Bay

Usasazo Secondary School 2002

Tramway road Housing 2004
Cape Town

Award of Excellence

Soweto Careers Centre 1993

International Awards

Jo Noero was elected as an International Fellow of the Royal Institute of British Architects in 2006.

Jo Noero was elected as a Honorary Fellow of the Royal Institute of British Architects in 2001.

Daimler Chrysler Award - 2007 for best work by an architect under 40 in SA Won By Heinrich Wolff

International Award from Chicago Athenaeum - 2007 Usasazo Secondary School

Ruth and Ralph Erskine Award - Ruth and Ralph Erskine Nordic Foundation Award for 1993 to Jo Noero for educational buildings in Soweto and Duduza which are beautiful, ecological and economical.

World Leadership Award – 2005 for Red Location Museum

R.I.B.A. International Award – 2006 for Red Location Museum

Dedalo Minosse Award of Commendation – 2006 for Red Location Museum


Early Childhood Education Centres
2002 City of Cape Town - 1st Prize

New Legislative Buildings
1999 Government of Botswana - 2nd Prize

Transformation of Red Location
1998 City of Port Elizabeth - 1st Prize

Housing Generator Competition
1997 The Netherlands Architecture Institute - 2nd Prize

2004 Cape Town Olympic Bid
1996 Olympic Bid Committe - Special mention

Velocity Film Studios
1995 Velocity Films - Invited Competition - 1st Prize

Duduza Resource Center
1992 The Urban Foundation - Invited Competition - 1st Prize

Katlehong Resource Center
1989 The Urban Foundation - Invited Competition - 1st Prize